jump to navigation

Ode to InfoWorld March 25, 2007

Posted by J.J. in Blogging, Tech Industry.
trackback

Dave Winer has a nice paean to InfoWorld (which recently announced that its print edition would cease operations):

InfoWorld was the first tech publication that gave you sweaty palms when it arrived in the mail. This was before the web, so news came in weekly installments. When InfoWorld arrived, everything else stopped. I read it from cover to cover.

I feel the same way. It is hard to even recall the day when the most timely form of tech news was weekly trade pubs. But I remember before I was even working in software that the next installment of InfoWorld was the highlight of my week. This is in fact how I knew I was in the wrong line of work – my excitement level over reading InfoWorld far exceeded my excitement over my “real” job.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

